HR-Photo Quality

General discussion about Scenery Design. Questions about SBuilder for Flight Simulator FS2004.
Mick

HR-Photo Quality

Post by Mick » Tue Oct 16, 2007 1:37 pm

Hello everybody,

still struggling with my first little Scenery, I think I would definitely need some advice from you experienced ones in here... I'm using FS9, so of course I'm also into SBuilder 2.05 rev6.

1. Trying to bring in some "photoreal" enhancements. The pic quality (I think I made it to 1.2 m/pix) looks quite decent in SBuilder (right pic), but after compiling it just looks horrible (left side).

[img]uploaded/Mick/2007101661747_comparison.jpg[/img]

Could anyone tell me if that's really the maximum quality of "photoreal" I can get? In that case I'd skip the idea... [B)] But being a newbie I guess there's just something I don't know and also didn't find in the help and forum etc.... E.g. somewhere I read that, in some cases, texture files would have to be flipped (whatever that means), someone else wrote in case of HR-Photo you'd need to flatten the whole area ... (would I lose my mesh elevations in that area then?). Unfortunately all the hints were dated 2004 or so, long before several revisions. What's true now?

2) I tried to make a water mask, following Luis' annotations here in the forum. I understood it had to be 8-bit grayscale bmp, and I also think it's mandatory to name it the same like the original bmp with the name extended as "_W.bmp". Both I did, but the result is still close to nothing.

[img]uploaded/Mick/2007101663246_ViewInFSTotal.jpg[/img]

From some discussion I had to guess that the order in which you include the maps could be relevant. Unfortunately nobody tells which order it's supposed to be to make it work...

3) Something quite similar seems to be the issue for blend masks, which might aviod the sharp transitions to the defaule area. I named the file "...(name).._B.bmp" according to the watermask-idea, but it also doesn't work.