How do I Edit a Particular Scenery

General discussion about Scenery Design. Questions about SBuilder for Flight Simulator FS2004.

How do I Edit a Particular Scenery

Postby kmanning » Sat Apr 25, 2015 1:24 am

HI all,
I have a question about a scenery that's found in the BHM2008.zip scenery file. First of all, I had to re-position runways and taxiways that were 200 to 300 feet off and delete some of the crossing taxiways that did not exist in the real world. I think they were taken from the original stock. I also had to re-position hangars and buildings in their proper locations. The buildings I re-positioned were also taken from the original stock. I did all of this using the ADE. But the main Birmingham terminal building does not appear to be a part of ADE. But I need to re-position the terminal because it is also about 100 feet off to the west and about a 150 feet off to the south. The parking positions are off as well, and the taxi point is off about a 100 feet or more into the grass. If I correct the parking positions for all of the planes and gates using ADE, the planes and gates will not line up correctly with the main terminal building. So, this means I have to re-position the main terminal building. How do I go about editing the main terminal building in this file? Will SBuilder allow me to edit the main terminal? If so, how do I do that? This file is for FS2004, not FSX. If I cannot edit the main terminal using SBuilder, what tool do I need to edit it?

Ken.
kmanning
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2009 9:16 pm

Re: How do I Edit a Particular Scenery

Postby luisfeliztirado » Sun Apr 26, 2015 12:35 am

Usually, airport terminals are in the airport facilities bgl.

Sometimes, you may find airport buildings in the objects bgl.

Occasionally, the area may have some custom, detailed scenery, and you would have to check the appropriate bgl to determine the contents.

In short, if there is a terminal, it must be in a bgl. Keep looking and you should find it. 8)

Best regards.
Luis
User avatar
luisfeliztirado
 
Posts: 411
Joined: Sun May 15, 2005 8:15 am
Location: Santo Domingo

Re: How do I Edit a Particular Scenery

Postby kmanning » Sun Apr 26, 2015 7:23 am

luisfeliztirado wrote:Usually, airport terminals are in the airport facilities bgl.

Sometimes, you may find airport buildings in the objects bgl.

Occasionally, the area may have some custom, detailed scenery, and you would have to check the appropriate bgl to determine the contents.

In short, if there is a terminal, it must be in a bgl. Keep looking and you should find it. 8)

Best regards.
Luis



Hi Luis,
I've tried all of them. The only one that ADE will load is the main airport file. When I try to load the other bgl files, ADE just pops up and says: "This file does not contain an airport. ADE will not load it." I don't know why it will not load.

Ken.
kmanning
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2009 9:16 pm

Re: How do I Edit a Particular Scenery

Postby luisfeliztirado » Sun Apr 26, 2015 12:50 pm

SBuilder for FS 9 can load different types of scenery bgl files and you can try that.

Otherwise, you will have to decompile the files yourself and look through them for the airport terminal. This requires very advanced knowledge, but is a great learning experience.

There are various decompilation tools available: you can try BGLAnalyze or BGL2XML.

Best regards.
Luis
User avatar
luisfeliztirado
 
Posts: 411
Joined: Sun May 15, 2005 8:15 am
Location: Santo Domingo

Re: How do I Edit a Particular Scenery

Postby kmanning » Mon Apr 27, 2015 2:46 am

luisfeliztirado wrote:SBuilder for FS 9 can load different types of scenery bgl files and you can try that.

Otherwise, you will have to decompile the files yourself and look through them for the airport terminal. This requires very advanced knowledge, but is a great learning experience.

There are various decompilation tools available: you can try BGLAnalyze or BGL2XML.

Best regards.
Luis



Hi Luis,
I think I'm beginning to understand things a little better now, and correct me if I'm wrong. When I first started my project, correcting runway and taxiway positions, I used the bgl file found in the BHM2008.zip. When I loaded the KBHM stock airport, I noticed that all the hangars, buildings, and the main terminal were in that bgl file and I could actually edit it. But this terminal, including the other buildings, are from 2004 and the terminal did not look as good as the one in the BHM2008. That is why I started my project using the BHM2008 bgl file. So, I'm beginning to think that when I started my project, I should have used the stock airport bgl file to make all these corrections. As a test, I purposely moved the terminal south a few hundred feet using the stock airport bgl file and compiled it using ADE. When I loaded FS9, it actually did moved the terminal south, but it was the stock terminal that was moved, not the terminal from BHM2008. The terminal found in the BHM2008 was still in the same position. I think I had the wrong idea thinking that in order to move or re-position the terminal, I need to use the bgl file found in the BHM2008.zip. So, am I correct to say that I was supposed to use the stock airport? But I'm still trying to understand how to go about re-positioning the terminal found in BHM2008.zip. Correct me if I'm wrong. My understanding is that when someone comes along and updates a terminal for example, one uses the stock airport and whatever updates are use, the updates are applied to the textures. That's just a thought. I'll try those other tools you've mentioned.

Ken.
kmanning
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2009 9:16 pm

Re: How do I Edit a Particular Scenery

Postby luisfeliztirado » Tue Apr 28, 2015 12:03 am

Things can get complicated when changing somebody's scenery.

1. The default airport scenery is sparse, not very realistic.
2. Scenery designers exclude the default scenery and replace with more detailed, realistic scenery including objects. Generally, it is accurately placed, so it is strange that you have found the Birmingham terminal in the wrong location.
3. If you want to move that third-party terminal, then you should ignore the default scenery that has already been excluded by third-party scenery.
4. You can either load and edit the third-party bgl in order to change the location of the terminal;
5. Or, you can exclude the third-party terminal and create a new bgl that puts it in the right place.

Best regards.
Luis
User avatar
luisfeliztirado
 
Posts: 411
Joined: Sun May 15, 2005 8:15 am
Location: Santo Domingo


Return to SBuilder for Flight Simulator FS2004



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users

cron