Autogen on top of photoreal scenery help.

This is the Forum to discuss the use of SBuilderX (version 3.10 and above). For previous versions of SBuilder please use the "SBuilder for Flight Simulator FS2004" forum.
diger44

Autogen on top of photoreal scenery help.

Post by diger44 » Thu Jul 29, 2010 6:55 am

I am new to SbuilderX.
I am currently using SBuilderX 3.1.3 and the latest Airport Design Editor to re-do my local airport. I have the photo-real scenery working great, however because this airport is near a forest, the square cut around the airport doesn't match, so I wanted to put auto-gen around airport boundaries, I did a little reading and then placed polygons over the areas I wanted auto gen. the below attachment shows this. However the compile dialogue changed to include Terrain Vectors. When I load it up in FSX, the autogen did not appear in the assaigned polygon. What did I do wrong?
P.S. Yes I made sure I checked to select polygons and maps.
Attachments
sbxhelp.jpg
my actions

luisfeliztirado

Re: Autogen on top of photoreal scenery help.

Post by luisfeliztirado » Thu Jul 29, 2010 1:20 pm

From the images and information provided, it is not easy to understand the exact nature of the problem. However, please consider the following possibilities:

- vector terrain, including polygons, will not appear over custom (photo-real) textures. So, if you have created a custom ground for your airport and then try to draw forests over part of it, neither the forests nor the forest ground texture will display, because the custom textures always take precedence. If this is the case, then try annotating the custom textures instead to add autogen trees to it.

- if you are drawing very small polygons in order to get trees to display, then the polygons may be too small and will not allow for that display.