Support GPX GeoTag data for background map images?

This is the Forum to discuss the use of SBuilderX (version 3.10 and above). For previous versions of SBuilder please use the "SBuilder for Flight Simulator FS2004" forum.
Seefer

Support GPX GeoTag data for background map images?

Post by Seefer » Thu Aug 05, 2010 12:47 am

Greetings.

I'm very new to FSX scenery creation and have only recently discovered SBuilderX. I'm very interested in Tile server features. I'm not sure if there's an easier way but I'm using SBuilderX to create a sattelite image background of an airport over which I can lay out and design airport scenery.

I notice that the Add Map _> From background feature writes out a text file along with the associated tile images. Have you considered supporting GPX (http://www.topografix.com/gpx.asp) gps files in addition to your standard .TXT files? With .gpx files saved with your tile images it would then be possible to use a batch processing tool like GPicSync at http://code.google.com/gpicsynv to Geotag all the tile images you save using the lat-lon data from the .gpx files.

With the images containing geotag data it may then allow authors of airport design software such as ADE, FSX Planner and AFX to implement a background image importer that can extract the lat-lon data directly from the geotagged images to automatically position them for accurate background placement.

At the moment it's quite time consuming copying and pasting all the lat-lon coordinates for the corner data from the .txt files created by SBuilderX and then entering these into the data boxes that the main aiport designer tools present you when loading background images.

As I said, I'm very new at FSX scenery creation and there may well be a way to do what I am doing with your tool a lot faster and easier. I'd welcome any pointers :)

Keep up the great work

meshman

Re: Support GPX GeoTag data for background map images?

Post by meshman » Thu Aug 05, 2010 2:14 am