Can't open SbuilderX 314 forum

This is the Forum to discuss the use of SBuilderX (version 3.10 and above). For previous versions of SBuilder please use the "SBuilder for Flight Simulator FS2004" forum.

Re: Can't open SbuilderX 314 forum

Postby rhumbaflappy » Thu Jul 10, 2014 12:44 am

I just copied globalmapper 64-bit program's folder to Program Files (x86), and it ran just fine from there. And that is native 64-bit, not .NET. As far as the 64-bit program is concerned, location makes no difference.

Permissions may make a difference.

I'm sure Luis will think the update process over, but in reality, we've only have had 2 users with update problems, and both were resolved. That's probably less problems than a full installer would cause!

I've got about 4 copies of the 64-bit 314, a couple of 32-bit 314, and a couple of 313's on my harddrive. They all run. I think I need to clean up my harddrive. :)

Dick
rhumbaflappy
 
Posts: 351
Joined: Sat Oct 16, 2004 9:11 pm
Location:

Re: Can't open SbuilderX 314 forum

Postby GaryGB » Thu Jul 10, 2014 5:17 pm

Hi again:

I posted a reply to the other thread on this topic at FSDeveloper:

http://www.fsdeveloper.com/forum/thread ... ost-676889

GaryGB
GaryGB
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2007 4:04 pm
Location: USA

Re: Can't open SbuilderX 314 forum

Postby iangbusa » Thu Jul 10, 2014 6:48 pm

rhumbaflappy wrote:Permissions may make a difference.

I think so. They're the bane of my Windows 7 and 8 life :x

rhumbaflappy wrote:I'm sure Luis will think the update process over, but in reality, we've only have had 2 users with update problems, and both were resolved. That's probably less problems than a full installer would cause!

Seems right to me. I'm quite happy now to have it running with bare minimum of fussing around. I think Gary has a point though as far as future version release discipline etc. as long as it's not an onerous task. We all have to remember that this is a voluntary commitment and be thankful for what we get - a superb tool! :P

rhumbaflappy wrote:I've got about 4 copies of the 64-bit 314, a couple of 32-bit 314, and a couple of 313's on my harddrive. They all run. I think I need to clean up my harddrive

Tut-tut... :lol:
iangbusa
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2014 4:10 pm

Re: Can't open SbuilderX 314 forum

Postby JDLinn » Tue Mar 01, 2016 12:15 am

Trying to add SBuilderX to a new computer, Win 10. I get the attached error. I have the latest Net Framework from Microsoft. I'm allowing the installer to put it into Program 86. Then I run it and get this error.

Doug
Attachments
sbuild_error.jpg
JDLinn
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Mar 31, 2015 5:38 pm

Re: Can't open SbuilderX 314 forum

Postby iangbusa » Tue Mar 01, 2016 1:12 am

Perhaps just installing (or copying the whole install from the zip file) in a location other than the "protected" Program Files or Program Files (X86) will work? You should just be able to extract everything you need directly from your download into a folder you create, for example.

Luis or someone will likely correct me on this but it's probably something to do with your UAC. When initializing, I imagine SBX is attempting to setup the ini file and being refused access.

ian
iangbusa
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2014 4:10 pm

Re: Can't open SbuilderX 314 forum

Postby JDLinn » Tue Mar 01, 2016 2:20 am

The ideas here have been great...haven't tried this..will tomorrow and let you know. Thank you!
JDLinn
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Mar 31, 2015 5:38 pm

Re: Can't open SbuilderX 314 forum

Postby luisfeliztirado » Tue Mar 01, 2016 6:33 pm

Ian has given the best solution. I have SBuilder (all versions) in a different directory, and even on another volume.

Perhaps you could try running SBuilderX as an administrator, that might also allow you access to protected Windows directories.

Best regards.
Luis
User avatar
luisfeliztirado
 
Posts: 412
Joined: Sun May 15, 2005 8:15 am
Location: Santo Domingo

Re: Can't open SbuilderX 314 forum

Postby JDLinn » Tue Mar 01, 2016 9:01 pm

I finally got the installation box to come up and it wants the path to FSX ... I use P3D V3.1 so how do I "point' this installation at that? I understand the path to SDK, etc that was in a previous setup I used. Can't get past the first box. But at least it is coming up now.

Update .....

Now it needs FSUIPC which I have ... sorry this just isn't going to work for me until there is an installer for P3D. I'm not going to fool around with the registry.

Doug
JDLinn
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Mar 31, 2015 5:38 pm

Re: Can't open SbuilderX 314 forum

Postby iangbusa » Thu Mar 10, 2016 2:49 pm

You don't have to fool around with the registry.

When SBX is running, you can enter the path of your flight sim in the Edit>FSX Preferences menu option. It only makes changes to the ini file.

'm not sure why you are using the installer. You could just download the "porrtable" version which is a zp containing all the SBX 314 folders and files. As far as I know, SBX doesn't really need to affect the registry at all. I use a version that was installed without an installer all the time.

Here's Dick's post from July 10, 2014:
rhumbaflappy wrote:Hi all.
Until Luis returns from sailing, I'm going to make available a zip file of a complete SBuilderX314 folder. It contains everything. Just unzip it to the harddrive location of choice, and it should run on any 64-bit Windows7 or Windows8. Make a shortcut of the SBuilderX.exe and place that on your desktop, if you like.
When Luis returns, he'll decide if a full 314 installer is a good option, and I'll remove this zip from the cloud.
This should end installation problems a few users are still having.
Here's the link:
https://onedrive.live.com/download?resid=F3950C5BBD2BCFA1%21805
Dick
I'm not sure if Dick still has this available but there are probably other ways you can get it. However, I must admit though, I've had some quirky behavior with the P3D (v3) SDK. Most likely my fault than SBX or the SDK!

ian
iangbusa
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2014 4:10 pm

Re: Can't open SbuilderX 314 forum

Postby JDLinn » Thu Mar 10, 2016 4:09 pm

Downloaded the zip, put it in. Ran it. It cannot find the flight simulator. When I put in the location of P3D, it stays "red" and does not connect. So How do I get this to "see" P3D?

Thank you
Doug
JDLinn
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Mar 31, 2015 5:38 pm

Re: Can't open SbuilderX 314 forum

Postby iangbusa » Fri Mar 11, 2016 1:44 am

I imagine it's looking for an FSX.exe file. Didn't P3D originally have a file of that name in its root folder? I don't have my P3D machine here right now but they may have changed it to another name - maybe P3D.exe? If so, probably the only way to do it is to have a "dummy" FSX.exe. The problem I can foresee with that occurs whenever SBX looks to it to start and connect with FSX, otherwise it should work...

Meanwhile, I successfully run SBX on one machine that doesn't have either FSX or P3D installed. Simply ignore the missing flight sim, make sure the tools are accurately designated in the Preferences dialog, and carry on building scenery which can later be copied to the relevant location(s). As I mention above, the only thing I can't do on that machine is connect with FSX and show the aircraft location etc.

Does anyone have anyone else have any accurate knowledge on this that might help rather than just my guesswork?!!

ian
iangbusa
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2014 4:10 pm

Re: Can't open SbuilderX 314 forum

Postby luisfeliztirado » Fri Mar 11, 2016 1:20 pm

This sounds right to me, Ian. The only reason why SBuilderX would need FSX is in case the user wants to connect to it to determine a location more accurately.

If the user doesn't care about that, then he should just ignore the warning and make his scenery project anyway.

Best regards.
Luis
User avatar
luisfeliztirado
 
Posts: 412
Joined: Sun May 15, 2005 8:15 am
Location: Santo Domingo

Re: Can't open SbuilderX 314 forum

Postby JDLinn » Fri Mar 11, 2016 1:23 pm

Hi Luis ... that's really important for what I'm doing. I tried running the migration tool to "trick" it into thinking there was an FSX in the P3D folder, but alas that did not work either. I understand I can skip the warnings, but I need the aircraft positioning to do what I am doing.

Doug/RTMM
JDLinn
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Mar 31, 2015 5:38 pm

Re: Can't open SbuilderX 314 forum

Postby iangbusa » Fri Mar 11, 2016 2:15 pm

Suggestion might be to use another method for determining accurate positioning and enter locations directly in the lat/long parameters of your SBX "objects". You could use something like Crosshairs_Plus, possibly, or even use co-ordinates from the top-left Shift-Z displayed text.

I guess this depends on what you're modeling in SBX. For some types of scenery element, you may well have to pick a more appropriate (but quite possibly payware) tool. Also, have you looked at tools like Object Placement Manager or for airfields - ADE? You'll definitely find some way of doing what you need - check out the FSDeveloper forums. (Ever the optimist and because of its versatility for me in the past, I still think SBX is a viable option if we can get you over these snags! :lol: )

ian
iangbusa
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2014 4:10 pm

Re: Can't open SbuilderX 314 forum

Postby luisfeliztirado » Fri Mar 11, 2016 3:44 pm

It is clear that there are times when users need to get an exact location in FSX. Ian provides excellent working solutions.

I think that Mark mentioned the possibility of renaming the P3D exe to FSX.exe; I don't know if this will allow you to connect to a running instance of P3D, though. You can try it and see.

For my part, I always use aerial images in the background for accurate and realistic object placement, since the default scenery is never really accurately placed anyway. A good aerial image not only shows the exact location of everything, but, with the SBuilderX Measuring Tool, we can even get good measurements of scenery elements.

Best regards.
Luis
User avatar
luisfeliztirado
 
Posts: 412
Joined: Sun May 15, 2005 8:15 am
Location: Santo Domingo

PreviousNext

Return to SBuilderX for Flight Simulator X



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users