Default and Photoreal terrain mixed

This is the Forum to discuss the use of SBuilderX (version 3.10 and above). For previous versions of SBuilder please use the "SBuilder for Flight Simulator FS2004" forum.

Default and Photoreal terrain mixed

Postby Hugopiugo » Thu Jul 23, 2015 10:36 am

Hi,
I've always used Sbuilder to create photoreal terrain...
But this time, I don't know if it's because it's a mountain place (Granada, Spain), but this happens:
2015-7-23_0-28-22-265.jpg

Basically in the place where I am, it becomes default FSX terrain...
It follows the plane, everywhere I go (only on Granada, in France for example, that doesn't happen).
I tried out all the Settings, Mesh, everything, tried it on max, on min, nothing changed.
Is there something I can do?

Thank you in advance.
Hugopiugo
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jul 22, 2015 11:50 pm

Re: Default and Photoreal terrain mixed

Postby luisfeliztirado » Fri Jul 24, 2015 1:14 am

Perhaps your source image was not of sufficiently high resolution.

If your custom terrain has a lower resolution than the default ground textures (1 meter per pixel), then FS will display the higher resolution default ground instead of your photo.

Why does your photo display at a distance from your aircraft viewpoint? Because of LOD (Level of Display) that uses lower resolution MIP maps as distance from you increases. At that point, your photo has as much resolution as the default ground MIP maps and your custom ground is displayed instead of default ground tiles.

A few solutions:

1. Use higher resolution source images to make your photo-real ground tiles. Make sure your source has at least 1meter per pixel resolution;

2. or, force Resample to create MIP maps for your source at the same LOD level as the default ground. In the Destination section of the control file, there is a line where you can specify Minimum and Maximum LOD levels for your custom ground.


The first solution is better, of course.

Best regards.
Luis
User avatar
luisfeliztirado
 
Posts: 428
Joined: Sun May 15, 2005 8:15 am
Location: Santo Domingo

Re: Default and Photoreal terrain mixed

Postby Hugopiugo » Sun Jul 26, 2015 10:13 pm

Thanks a lot for your answer! It was the LOD. I changed it to 4,15 when resample the images, and it worked.
Hugopiugo
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jul 22, 2015 11:50 pm


Return to SBuilderX for Flight Simulator X



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users